Latest News

Exabeam Cyberversity Guides Next Generation of Cybersecurity Professionals

Exabeam, the leader in next-gen SIEM and XDR, today announced Exabeam Cyberversity, an interactive educational experience meant to increase diversity and help close the skills gap in the cybersecurity industry. Participants, including students, recent graduates, and those curious about a career in cybersecurity, will get a chance to learn from Exabeam security experts and other industry professionals already established in the field.

The U.S. Department of Labor reported in August 2021 that there are approximately 1 million more job openings than individuals seeking work in the country, and this is certainly reflected in the cybersecurity labour landscape. According to Cyber Seek, nearly 500,000 cybersecurity positions were available as of May 2021. At the same time, the cybersecurity industry struggles with diversity. Women make up 14% of the information security ranks, despite making up 51% of the U.S. population, and minority groups remain underrepresented in senior roles.

“We are trying to solve two problems: get people interested in a career in cybersecurity and increase minority representation throughout the industry,” said Michael DeCesare, CEO and President, Exabeam. “Exabeam is investing in the next generation of cybersecurity professionals through Exabeam Cyberversity and our related scholarship programs. We want to raise awareness and create opportunities to help address the talent shortage, bring diverse perspectives to our industry, and ensure global organisations are well-defended against the growing number of sophisticated adversaries.”

A Community-driven Initiative

Exabeam Cyberversity gives attendees the opportunity to meet some of Exabeam’s foremost customer success, engineering, and product experts as well as cybersecurity leaders from the broader Exabeam community at large, including customers and partners. Security experts from organisations such as Canadian Tire, Castra, Chevron Federal Credit Union, Meissner Filtration, and others have committed their time and expertise to the program.

Exabeam Cyberversity sessions will cover topics such as cybersecurity career expectations, job hunting techniques, identifying technical and non-technical opportunities on the market today, and more. Attendees will also learn about enterprise cybersecurity programs as well as scholarship and internship opportunities across participating organisations.

Exabeam Cyberversity begins October 13 at 4pm (PT) / Midnight (BST) and will be followed by additional events on October 28 at 3:00 p.m. (PT)/ 11.00 p.m. (BST) and Nov. 8, 2021, at 2:00 p.m.(PT) / 9.00 p.m. (GMT)

To learn more and register for Exabeam Cyberversity events, go here.

Ezoicreport this ad
error: Content is protected !!
Don`t copy text!